Skip to content ↓
Solihull School

Solihull School

Religion and Chapel

The school is a religious foundation and is fortunate to have its own Chapel, consecrated in 1961, and its own Chaplain. Each section of the school attends a Chapel service once a week. There is also a mid-week celebration of Holy Communion and on Sundays there is a celebration of Holy Communion in the morning and an evening service open to parents, pupils and friends of the school. The singing of the Chapel Choir forms an important part of these services. The Chaplain not only conducts these services and prepares candidates for Confirmation, but is also an important figure in fostering the moral and spiritual welfare of the pupils.

The school is increasingly diverse in the religious backgrounds of its pupils. It is, of course, open to parents to ask for an exemption of pupils from classes and services on grounds of conscience. However, every attempt is made to ensure that religious observance and the teaching of Religious Studies are as inclusive as possible. In particular, the teaching of Religious Studies encourages an understanding of different religions. Through these lessons and through the teaching of Wellbeing & Personal Development the school also encourages pupils to think about their values, their relationships with each other and their role in society.


Chapel Services CHRISTMAS Term

Sunday 8 September - Martyn Garner Memorial 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm  Choral Evensong 
Sunday 15 September     6.30pm Sung Eucharist 
Sunday 22 September  9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Evensong 
Sunday 29 September 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Evensong 
Sunday 6 October 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Harvest Evensong 
Sunday 13 October     6.30pm Sung Eucharist 
HALF TERM        
Sunday 10 November - Remembrance Sunday Mass     6.30pm Requiem Mass
Sunday 17 November  9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Evensong 
Sunday 24 November - Christ the King     6.30pm Sung Eucharist
Sunday 1 December - Advent Sunday 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Advent Carols 
Sunday 8 December 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Compline 
Sunday 15 December 9.45am Eucharist 6.30pm Nine Lessons and Carols
Monday 16 December     6.30pm Nine Lessons and Carols

AmbitionOpportunityCommunity